Photo First mode or Scan First mode
Shooting Modes let you decide whether you want to take the photo first, then scan IDs, or whether you'd like to scan IDs before taking photos.
*There is also a special "Single ID Only" setting which is available only in Scan First Shooting Mode
The way a Shooting Mode works, depends on your Tether Mode also. In the vast majority of cases you should be using Continuous Tether Mode so we will assume that for all examples below.
Setting your Shooting Mode
Shooting Modes can only be changed when the device is turned on and connected to the Console.
With your Walker turned on, open the ELEMENTICE™ console and click on "Devices" tab on the top banner of the Console and select the relevant Walker.
You are now on the Device page and can access the Device Settings section at the bottom of the page. Shooting Mode is a configurable setting under Device Settings. You can choose between Photo First and Scan First. You need to click the tick before the setting will be saved.
*Only if you are set to Scan First... you'll get an additional setting called Single ID Only. If enabled (Yes) scanning more that one ID will result in the the most recent ID overwriting any previous ID and becoming the only ID for that session. If disabled (No) scanning more than one ID will result in all IDs scanned being associated with that session.
Using Photo First
This is the default mode. The Walker will be continually connected to your camera (essentially in tethered capture mode) and will copy any JPEG image that is created on the camera. You’ll know you are in Photo First mode because the number of pics can increase while the number of IDs is zero - also, if you try to scan an ID before you've taken a photo, you will get a reminder message on the Reader.
To start a session, just take a photo. You will see that the number of ‘Pics’ in the session will increase with each photo you take, in real-time.
To end a session, scan an ID. The Reader will beep and buzz to indicate a successful read, and the number of IDs scanned will increased. You can still scan more IDs to send that session of photos to more IDs but once you've scanned an ID you cannot add any more photos to that session.
To start a new session, just take a photo. You’ll notice that the number of Pics and IDs will reset.
Using Scan First
In this configuration, the Walker will be continually connected to your camera (essentially in tethered capture mode) and will copy any JPEG image that is created on the camera. You’ll know you are in Scan First mode because the number of IDs can increase while the number of Pics is zero - also, if you try to take a photo before you've scanned an ID, you will get a reminder message on the Reader.
To start a session, scan an ID. The Reader will beep and buzz to indicate a successful read, and the number of IDs displayed will increased. If you want the following photos to be sent to more than one ID, scan the additional IDs now – before you start taking photos. Once you start taking photos, no more IDs can be added to the current session.
Every photo taken from when you finish scanning IDs, up until you scan a new ID, will be added to the current session. You will see that the number of ‘Pics’ in the session will increase with each photo you take, in real time.
To end the session and start a new session, just scan a new ID. You’ll notice that the number of Pics and IDs will reset when you do.
Using Single ID Only
In this configuration, Everything will work as with Scan First, except if you scan more than one ID before taking photos, Walker will only keep the most recent ID scan.
For situations such as school student photos, you know that you only ever want one ID scanned because there is only ever one child in the photo. There is also a lot going on, you might forget if you scanned an ID, or maybe you are given the wrong one and need to scan a different ID instead, but there are privacy issues with making sure that nobody gets images that they aren't in. It's a lot...
We made Single ID Only for this exact purpose.
When enabled, Single ID Only will limit the number of IDs associated with any session to one ID only - the most recent one scanned.
So if you forgot whether you scanned the ID for this session, just scan again and you'll know that the most recent ID is the one which will be associated.
If you were given the wrong ID to begin with, just scan the correct ID before you start a new session. The last ID scanned in that session will be the one which is kept.
*Single ID only does not work with Photo First Shooting Mode. It is only available in Scan First Shooting Mode.